Christian Schwendt / Latitude 11

Your questions and comment on restaurants and dining out
Steve Wooler
myTobago Editor & Chief Anorak
myTobago Editor & Chief Anorak

Christian Schwendt / Latitude 11

Post by Steve Wooler »

The majority of our readers will never have heard of Latitude 11, or of Christian Schwendt and his wife Utisha, who ran this small Tobago restaurant until it was forced to close in 2008.

This post is therefore directed at the wider global market and specifically for anyone with, or considering, involvement with Christian Schwendt. Allow me to stress that I have no personal issues with Schwendt, although I confess to huge frustration that someone with such clear talent could so waste his skills and abuse the trust of those who invest or show faith in him.

A baker by trade, German-national Christian Schwendt worked for a number of Tobago hotels as manager/chef. Most of these jobs lasted only a matter of months and he left every job under a cloud. Deceit and financial issues appear to be the common thread.

In early 2007, Schwendt opened Latitude 11 in Pigeon Point Road. The great start was not to last. (more here).

After the closure of Latitude 11, the Schwendt’s were appointed as managers of a large rental villa in Tobago. The UK owners finally kicked them out for non-payment of rent. (more here)

Word had spread and the Schwendt’s found it impossible to work within the Tobago hospitality industry. I heard nothing more until a hotel owner in Costa Rica contacted me after finding this forum. It was the same old story. Christian Schwendt was employed by the hotel, gave a few months good service then started to run up debts and demonstrate increasingly deceitful behaviour. It appears that the Schwendt’s got wind of the owner’s investigations, because they disappeared from the hotel, in the middle of the night, a few days later.