Peter Cox still doing tours?

What to see, what to do, where to go
Josie
Newbie Visitor
Newbie Visitor

Peter Cox still doing tours?

Post by Josie »

Hi all! First, I just want to say how great this site is; it's an excellent resource.

Does anyone know if Peter Cox is still doing tours? I'm visiting in July with a couple friends, all of us are biologists by trade, and we were looking forward to booking a day tour with Peter. When I was researching tours a couple weeks ago there was a great review on here, but now I cannot find it. His personal website also seems to be down but was working not long ago. Anybody know what's up? As a bird person, I'm perfectly happy to book with Newton George, but my frog and insect buddies are not as thrilled about a bird-intensive day. Thanks for any info!
Steve Wooler
myTobago Editor & Chief Anorak
myTobago Editor & Chief Anorak

Re: Peter Cox still doing tours?

Post by Steve Wooler »

Hello Josie

Welcome aboard! :)

I have just (last weekend) returned from six fabulous weeks on Tobago. Peter has been 'reviewing' his guiding services for a couple of years. I met him two weeks ago and he told me that it was pretty certain that he would be ending his guiding services as he is now heavily involved in agricultural consultancy. He sent me the final confirmation at the end of last week. I know how many people enjoyed their trips with Peter, so he will be missed.

The go-to guide for serious bird watchers on Tobago is still Newton George - by a considerable mile. Mind you, his services are so much in demand that you do have to get in early.