Sheppy's website

Transport-related questions and comment
Claude Soulodre

Sheppy's website

Post by Claude Soulodre »

Hi Steve,
Fantastic website!!! I hope every vaction destination we want to visit has such an intelligent and comprehensive resource as MyTobago.
As part of our vacation preparation, we tried to email Sheppy via the link on this website. This was on Thursday Sept. 29. So far no answer from him. Also, I tried his website at http://www.tobagocarrental.com and it is down. Do you have any information about this? Are they just working on the website? I would really like to get a quote from Sheppy prior to booking our rental car.
Thanks for any help you can provide.
Cheers,
Claude
:?
Steve Wooler
myTobago Editor & Chief Anorak

Post by Steve Wooler »

Hi Claude

Welcome aboard! :lol:

On reading your email, the first thing I did was check his site. Sure enough, it was down. Then, being a professional webmaster, I used the tools at my disposal to track down the reason. I couldn't believe it when I found that the simple answer was that his domain name had expired had not been renewed.

This is something that we webmasters live in dread of. For whatever reason, a renewal reminder goes missing and/or we forget to take action; the domain lapses then the website dissapears. You may not even notice it immediately if its a low-traffic site. Then you go past the redemption period and either have to fork out hundreds and hundreds of dollars to get the name back, or start from scratch. Thank God that we have automated systems for our clients that automatically renew all domains by default.